First Past The Post (FPTP) is a lesser known promotion that some bookmakers offer and can equate to some massive returns if it hits. So, what exactly is it?
Some bookmakers that offer First Past The Post will pay you out as a winner if your horses crosses the line first but then later gets disqualified. If another horse is awarded the win in the official result, they will pay out on this horse as a winner too! This greatly benefits matched bettors as exchanges don’t offer First Past The Post and will only settle bets on the official result. This means we could win at both bookmaker and the exchange.
Another great thing about FPTP is it does not just include the win. It can also occur on each way bets – if your horse places but is later disqualified, the place part of the bet will still be paid out as a winner.
In general the following rules apply:
Win, place or each way bets will qualify but bets must either be placed within the last 48 hours, or on the day depending on bookmaker. Ante-post bets will not be eligible for FPTP.
Horses that are disqualified because they failed to ‘weigh in’ correctly do not qualify.
Horses that are disqualified because they have taken the ‘wrong course’ do not qualify.
It is vital that you check the bookmakers terms and conditions on the offer as there may be some variance between them.
Bookmakers that offer First Past The Post:
William Hill – no longer paying FPTP but if a winning horse is demoted place parts will stand